Universal Code of Conduct

As you might have heard, the Wikimedia Foundation Board of Trustees has recognized the need for a standard set of behavioural guidelines for the movement as a whole. The Trust & Safety team is working with communities to start building those set of guidelines that will foster ethical behaviour, goodwill, and a good working atmosphere in the movement.

The project highly depends on ideas and feedback from the community. We, thus, request you to share your thoughts, ideas, and inputs about having a Universal Code of Conduct.

Here are some questions to get you started - What do you want to see emphasized in the COC, or what don’t you want to see in a Code of Conduct? How do we solve challenges around enforcement? Have you had a bad experience with a Code of Conduct elsewhere? Why was it a negative experience?

7 Likes

I’m not an expert in these matters, but I feel that a lot of negative experiences around Codes of Conduct comes from the enforcement side of things. For example, people complain that they didn’t receive a fair hearing, that there is no recourse, or that enforcement matters are kept confidential. I would suggest to make these issues part of the project right from the start.

1 Like

Context about this Universal Code of Conduct, in case it helps: https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Universal_Code_of_Conduct

1 Like

I think advice and help is more important than guidelines and laws.

Still, I totally support @Gnom as T&S global ban procedures are far from perfect and needed to be though with more consideration for every parties involved, the victim for sure, but also the community(-ies) and the persecutor, as (s)he is still a human being. Recently, a global banned person came back to post phrases from the Human rights declaration, in the course of the thematic activity, to protest against his ban. And it was though to revoke him.